Messaging in Safe Food Pro

The messaging feature in Safe Food Pro allows you to share important information and tasks with your Users/Staff


The messaging function is integrated across both the Mobile/Tablet and the Administration console. You can create either a 'Message' or an 'Action'. 

The 'Message' feature is a way of communicating or sharing news, for example: 

  • Contacting Staff
  • Sending out Team Messages 
  • Sending reminders of new opening hours or a new menu release 
  • Distributing a new ad-hoc Form for completion. You might create a new staff training quiz and then send a link to that Form in a message asking everyone to complete the quiz. In the mobile application staff can click a link in the message to open the Form and complete it (this can be repeated by each staff member). 
  • Distributing a resource or link to a web page that you want staff to read. These might be new procedures, training, etc.

The 'Action' feature can be used for more important or immediate tasks that you want to be completed, for example: 

  • List Corrective Actions from Verifiers and mark then as 'done' when they are completed
  • Creating Task Lists for a particular User

Actions are listed in a new report on the Report Summary page - you can see when they were created, the current status (Active or Done) and when they were last updated:

For more information about reporting see the reports documentation.

Creating a Message/Action from your Administration Console

  1. Log into your Administration Console 
  2. Click the 'Message' Icon in the top right corner 

  3. Click on the drop-down 'Create a New Message/ Action' 

  4. Click 'Message' or 'Action' and fill in the message text that you want to send. You also have the option to attach an Ad-hoc Form, Resource or URL

  5. Click the drop-down under 'Send to' to choose recipients.  You can choose to either send to everyone or to a specific user. When someone receives a message from your Safe Food Pro account it can be read by clicking on the 'Message' Icon. Depending on your settings, push notifications can appear for your Mobile/Tablet device and even your Web Browser! 

Note: When sending an 'Action', the receiver of the 'Action' defaults to yourself. You can then change that by clicking on the drop down and selecting 'Everyone' or a specific User.

Sending a Message from the Mobile/Tablet

  1. Login to Safe Food Pro on your Mobile/Tablet 
  2. Click the 'Message' Icon in the top right corner 

  3. Or alternatively, you can find messages in the Menu

  4. Here you can see all the messages that you have sent or received. Messages Sent are shown with a 'Blue Arrow', Messages Received are shown with a 'Green Arrow' and actions are shown with no icon on a Mobile/Tablet. 

  5. Click the 'Green Plus' Button to create a new message 

  6. From a Mobile/Tablet you can only send a text 'Message' and it is sent to everyone. Messages sent from the Mobile/ Tablet can't have attachments. 

Receiving a Message/Action

If you have an unread message on your Mobile/Tablet, the 'Message' icon will show a red dot. You can be notified that you have a new message through a push notification on your Mobile/Tablet, Web Browser or you will find it on the Message page.

To sort your messages you can click the toggle in the top right corner. When you click it only 'Actions' will be shown, when you click again all messages will be shown. 

Once you have read the message you can click the tick next to it to 'Mark as Read' if you click the tick next to an alert you can 'Mark as Complete' (which would then be shown on the Action Report). Once the message has been read it will stay in the list but the tick will be grey'd out as shown below: 

You can also receive a push notification on your Mobile/ Tablet: 

Deleting Messages and Actions

You can only delete messages and actions from the Administration Console, you can't delete them from the Mobile/Tablet. To delete a message you just click the 'Bin' icon on the right. If you delete a message/action then it will be deleted from ALL users. 

Note: Actions and Messages are shown for two weeks - older messages are not displayed.

Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us